Testimonials Off Road

A selection of recent Photos and Quotes

Hi John & Jeanette, once again a superb weekend from start to finish I can’t thank you both enough. Myself & two others returning for a second visit bringing with us seven newcomers & I can truly say we all we be back for more. Your hospitality is top notch & anybody couldn’t ask for, want for anything & you pair couldn’t do anymore to make us feel so welcome in your home. The two days riding was brilliant the weather was great the lanes were just as amazing as the first time. The two guides are faultless as well. Keen to help with any little (or big) issues that come along from time to time. 

Hopefully see you all again soon for a weekend of bikes, mud , banter & quiet simply a great time.”

Ian, Rob & the others from 21st & 22nd April 2018

Wow! what a trip! John and Jeanette are perfect hosts, we were made to feel welcome and part of the family from arriving, even before the bike banter got going!! The rooms are clean, tidy and well kept, everything you would need, you really are part of the house. Someone in that household is an excellent chef as well, we were treated to a 4 course banquet on the first night, no complaints on the second night either!! The off road riding in the area is superb, Alain and Steven are excellent guides and made a good pace on both days, Alain gets on well with the locals and quite obviously rides a lot!! Don’t expect too much English from the guides but that really was not a hindrance, the lunch breaks are a bit of a surprise for us ‘Ros Beef’ when in England we look for a sandwich or pasty but here in France we sat down for a 4 course lunch!! Tres Bon!! The support van was a welcome addition delivering fuel and a taxi from time to time. Day 2 was a different route but with much of the same pace and events taking place, I have just started eating again 2 days after I got back… In short Top Marks to John and Jeanette for a thoroughly pleasant two days & Top Marks to Alain and Steven for getting us out and back safely. Pat yourselves on the back for a job very well done”
Regards Andy Benney, 1st visit, April 2018
 
 

Ian Hill’s group

And they’re off!

*
 
Returned on 15/04/18 from another amazing weekend trip with 5 friends at Bike Normandy.
 
Accommodation
As before the accommodation was superb, the house is lovely and my room had beautiful views overlooking stunning fields that roll on forever. The beds are very comfy, the rooms are spotless and the shower perfect, especially after the days riding.
 
John and Jen
The hosts John and Jen make you feel so welcome and at home. Being our second year we felt like we had known them for many more. They dine with you at dinner and their stories of past trips and travels are brilliant. They’re a lovely genuine couple who enjoyed our company just as much as we enjoyed theirs. I hope 🙂 [yes Sean! J&J]

Food and Drink
I thought I would make a special mention of Jen’s food in this review as it deserves its own heading.
It’s amazing with 4 courses each day:
Starters like chorizo, egg & camembert and pumpkin soup
Mains like beef and Guinness and crusted cod with all the trimmings
Fabulous cheese board and very tasty puddings.
We all left the table feeling fully replenished.
As always there was as much drink as you wanted with premium larger, wines and a little something special after.
 
Alain
This guy is a legend. Tailors the ride to suit ability, helps immediately if there’s a problem and will even have a little race if you fancy one. Doesn’t talk a word of English and we don’t talk a word of French but it only adds to the adventure. He loves to ride and we all loved riding with him.
(There is only one thing I wish was different.  I wish I could tell him myself what a legend he is in French. I will be learning that before our next trip)
 
The Ride
The weather was much nicer than our first year so we got to see more of Normandy’s beautiful scenery. The trails are so much fun and range from fast flat open straights to tight twisty single tracks. Add in a couple of hill climbs, river crossings and stair descents and it’s just an epic day’s ride.
As well as all this you have John in the back up van carrying everything you need, including a spare bike which we needed after a bike failure.
 
I said last year I would recommend Bike Normandy and will 100% be returning.
A year later nothing has changed.
I would 100% recommend Bike Normandy and 100% be returning for a 3rd year.
 
Thank you John, Jen and Alain. Hope to see you all soon.”
 
Sean Godly & 5 friends, 2nd visit, April 2018
 
[Wow, thanks Sean for the amazing review, look forward to seeing you next year. J&J]

Sean’s group ready for the off

Sean’s photo at coffee break

**
John and Jen, thank you for your amazing hospitality and totally well organised off-roading weekend. From superb food, accommodation and riding it doesn’t get much better. Nothing was too much trouble. There are many companies that should take a leaf out of your book in providing weekends like this. Hope to come back soon either on or off road”
 
Trevor Bayliss, 1st visit, March 2018
 
Good riding, well organised with a back up van. John supplied a replacement bike when mine packed up. Large drying room that worked (after lots of deep water) Great food with plenty of wine and beer. John and Jeanette are excellent hosts and do a lot or riding…so they know how to put a great package together. Will be going back”
 
Allan Angold, 1st visit, March 2018
 
 “These guys are bikers through and through and as such know exactly how to put on a tailored weekend. The hospitality, accommodation, food and organisation were superb. Thanks John and Jen, highly recommended.”
 
Andy Francis, 1st visit, March 2018
 
 
 
“Yet another cracking trip! Many, many thanks. See you again soon”
Wayne Steele, 2nd visit, Devon, March 2018
 
 
 
*
 
“Massive thanks to John and Jeanette, my first trip and it was like staying with good friends. The location is amazing and the food to die for. Saturday ride was fantastic, sunny and 180 km (nearly all off road). Sunday was a washout as it was terrible weather, miserable rain and cold…but it was the highlight for me – “it was awesome!”, the best off road riding ever! A massive thanks (plus un grand merci) to Alain and Steve, they are a great asset, always there to help even it meant waiting for me to pick up my bike for the umpteenth time….Ride on and GAS, GAS, GAS! See you next year”
 
Garrie Gray, 1st trip, March 2018
 
 
*
“Hi John and Jen, just to say thanks very much for looking after us all over the weekend. The riding and the hospitality were 1st class and though I didn’t complete the course my appetite for off-roading has been rekindled! Best wishes”
 
Gordon Barr, 4th trip – 1st off-road, November 2017
 
Andy & Duncan’s 5th visit with other newcomers
 
*
 
4 Sorensen web
The last group of the Spring – Tom (4), Matt (6), Paul (4), TC (11), Karl (9) & Rod (6 visits)
*

Just wanted to say a massive thank you for literally everything last weekend, it was, as most say on your website “faultless”.  My only problem was the food, it was too good and as a fella that can’t say no I put on weight LOL! Lovely couple not forgetting the dog and a lovely house. See you next year hopefully with Darren and the crew again. Regards.”

Conrad Earll IIRSM – March 2017

 

Andy Webster & friends

Andy Webster & friends

Who is this ?

Who is this ?

Our guide - Alain

Our guide – Alain

Steven closes the group

Steven closes the group

2 Webster plank web

Dave (Smith) beats Andy’s “plank” record with a little help from some red wine!!

*

Got back last night from a two day off road trail ride including a two night stay with 5 friends.
Accommodation:
John and Jen are wonderful people who made us all feel so welcome in their beautiful home. The food was outstanding, the drink was endless and the rooms were lovely. The view from mine was stunning.
Guide:
Our guide “Alain” was a fantastic rider, knows the lanes like the back of his hand and was always there to help when things went wrong. He helped us with mechanical failures and literally removed fallen trees from the lanes so we could pass. He also took us to some fabulous locations for lunch and coffees.
The Ride:
Two days trail riding amongst woods, fields, rivers beds, rocky bits, muddy bits, dry, smooth the list goes on. The variation was fantastic and the scenery was stunning. Not even the rain dampened me and my friends’ spirits.

Throughout the day we were supported by John in his van. He carries fuel, water, tools and whatever else you want him to. The set up worked brilliantly.

All in all I think it’s the best two days of trail riding I have ever done and I know my mates think it was fantastic. 100% we would all go back.

I would without question recommend Bike Normandy and I can’t wait to go back.”

The above is from Sean Godly’s 5 star ‘Google Review’ on 6 March 2017

1 Godly web

Sean & friends

*

“Brilliant trip, fantastic food & people, the guides & trails were excellent!!!”
Rob, 1st visit, Merseyside, November 2016
“Fantastic break, loved the trails, the guides & the stay. The food & the welcome were excellent.
Thank you very much, hope to see you again”
Oli, 1st visit, Merseyside, November 2016
“Good people, good trails, good food – will come again with sausages!!”
Tommy H, 1st visit, Merseyside, November 2016
32 Mawdsley web
 
*
“Hi John & Jeanette,
Thanks for a totally great weekend all the way round we all enjoyed it
tremendously…What’s the availability for early April 2017 ?
Once again thanks for being good hosts.”
Ian & Rob & 8 others, 1st visit (Nick’s 5th), November 2016
 
31 Birch web
*
30 Garrett, Saines, Young web
 
Andy & Duncan’s 4th visit, with other newbies, October 2016
*
 
29 Medlicott web
 
Jack Medlicott & friends first visit – October 2016
*
 
“Great food, Great accommodation & Great hosts. Amazing venue, could not have been more hospitable. Highly recommend Bike Normandy”
Paul, Nick, Ray, Mike & Paul, April 2016
5 Scott, Richards web
*
4 Railston 2 web
Dennis celebrates his 50th birthday!
*
“Trip No 6 done  – fantastic – as good as the first & looking forward to trip No 7. Never letting the high standards slip in any aspect of the weekend makes BN the best at what they do. Thanks again”
Stewie Roberts & friends, March 2016
3 Roberts, McCarter web
*
“Another great tour – everyone enjoyed the food & hospitality. See you again”
Jonathan Heath + 9 friends, March 2016
1 Heath web
“Our second trip to your wonderful home – it’s the complete package. Fantastic hosts, the riding is exciting and the guides are fun & friendly. Thanks again”
Dave Brown, October 2015
“Second time for this adventure and it didn’t disappoint. Great hospitality & weather ordered specially! Thanks again John & Jen”
Grant H, October 2015
28 Brown web
*
“Bonjour John & Jen, would like to say a big thank you to you both and for being fantastic hosts. The set-up you have is fantastic, just so well organised. Thank you and we will be coming back!”
David Railston, Herts, April 2015
4 Railston web
*
“2nd time here with the off-road crew, what more to say than AMAZING! Food, hospitality, guides
Gas! Gas! Gas!”
Phil Hughes, Surrey TRF, April 2015
“Trip No 5 for me and already booked trip No 6 – can’t wait. What an absolute pleasure it is to be here. Great hospitality from John & Jen as ever, the trails are a great mix & miles of them too, the guides are superb”
Stewie Roberts, 5th trip (3 road, 2 off-road), Surrey TRF, April 2015
“*Smiles for Miles* What a great weekend – I’ve had such a good time on the trails – over 150 miles of great lanes and varying terrain. The guides are great…and both John & Jen are great hosts – very welcoming into their home. The food has been superb and better than most restaurants. I’ll be back”
Gavin Hughes, Surrey TRF, April 2015
3 Roberts web
*
“Great trails, top guide, good food, a well run weekend – Merci Beaucoup!”
Dave Richards & friends, Hertfordshire – March 2015
2 McCarther & Richards web
*
“Hi John and Jeanette, just a quick thank you for last weekend, all the boy’s really enjoyed it and we will be talking about it for a long time. The format, accommodation and catering is excellent and the weather wasn’t bad either . Please send our regards to Alain and the boys . Can you make a provisional booking for next March – hopefully for 10 people…Thanks again”
Jonathan Heath – March 2015
“9.30am,
Wind’s in the East,
Mist rolling in,
Like something amazing is about to begin.
Alain the guide sets off on his back wheel for two days of wild & woolly.
You must do this. All of it. Thank you John & Jen”
Bob, Jonathan, Tim, John, Warren & Stuart (almost Northerners!) – March 2015
“2nd visit, great weekend, great company, great food, we’ll be back for a 3rd visit – you bet ya!”
Robbie & Pete (Southerners!) – March 2015
P1090113 web  P1090116 web
Our first off-roaders of the year – and what fabulous weather! (PS The song was December ’63)
*
“Thanks again for a great weekend once again…Brilliant hosts, guides & accommodation. See you again”
“Diff” – Andy Wakely, 2nd trip, Somerset, November 2014
“2nd visit (2012 & 2014) another perfect weekend. great hosts, guides & lanes. Many thanks”
Simon
“SUPERB. Excellent weekend!”
“Chips 37”
“What a blast! Two fun days & great food. Thanks to both of you”
Les Foy, 2nd trip, Somerset, November 2014
“Excellent weekend – couldn’t ask for more”
Stu, Somerset, November 2014
31 Wakeley web
Diff’s group from Somerset
*
“Great place to stay, wonderful hosts and superb riding. Couldn’t have wished for anything better”
Shaun – October 2014
Thanks for a very good time – food fantastic, rooms great, hospitality excellent, trails awesome, guides awesome! See you again”
Ian, Shaun, Ian, Dave, Andy, Roy, Steve, Angus, Martin, Ash – October 2014
30 Haslop web
Ian Haslop’s group from “up North!”
*
“Just a quick email to say thank you for a very enjoyable weekend,all the guys said they would come back again next year. The food was excellent, the guides outstanding and so well organised by yourself. Once again thanks and I hope you have a full order book as you deserve it”
Nick Littlecott – October 2014
29 Littlecott Saines web
Andy Saines & Duncan Pate’s 3rd visit with Nick Littlecott’s group – Oct 2014
*
6 McKinney web
“The Surrey Saga Off-Roaders!” (with Alain) – April 2014
“Another two days of brilliant guiding from Alain.
Many thanks for your hospitality & see you again next year”
*
5 McCarter Fuller web
Liam McCarter’s group with Adam & Will – 2nd visit
*
4 Sorensen web
Rod Veck 4th visit, Tom Hawkins the newby!, Matt Skelton 3rd visit, Karl Sorensen 6th visit,
Tony Greenslade 8th visit, Nick Birch 4th visit – April 2014
*
3 Dakar web
Ian “Dakar” Davies – 3rd Visit, with the lads from “Up North”
*
“What a great off-road weekend. Fantastic food, cider & hospitality. Great guides with lots of knowledge. EXCELLENT!!”
Charlie Soto, Surrey TRF, March 2014
“Visit No 4 for me but first time off-road. Just as fantastic as ever. Lots of people try to do what Bike Normandy do, but only Bike Normandy do it how it should be done! Once again thank you for your great hospitality”
Stewie Roberts – 4th visit – Surrey TRF, March 2014
2 Roberts web
and just look at the fantastic weather in March
*
Surrey TRF 2014 - 1 web
*
Surrey TRF 2014 - 3 web
*
“Wanted to say thanks for the weekend, it was fantastic…food was wonderful, hospitality was amazing, support during the days was immense… Alain is legendary and thoroughly enjoyed attempting to keep up with him (although in the wet it’s an impossible task, he is so good!)”
Phil Penhaligan – 5th visit – March 2014
1a Parker Penhaligan Wyatt web
*
“We all had a fantastic weekend trail riding. Thank you for everything. The food was fantastic – all we need to do is come back again! All the best from Team TREK”
34 Mills web
The last group of the year – “TREK” (Trail Riding East Kent) – November 2013
P1040376 web
*
P1040382 web
*
33 Stroomer, Penhaligan web
Paul Stroomer’s 7th visit & still great weather – November 2013
*
32 web
*
“Thanks for a great weekend – best lanes ever & wonderful hosts. Cheers from all the lads.”
Dave Brown & Co, October 2013
“Spectacular! We enjoyed hundreds of kms of autumnal lanes with our cheery guides. To return to a gastronomic feast was a dream!”
Will Fuller, October 2013
“Definitely Brilliant!!”
Ryan Smith, October 2013
P1030872 web
*
P1030871 web
Alain, one of your guides
*
K Williams jet wash web
*
DSCF0204 web
*
DSCF0199 web
*
DSCF0193 web
*
6 Sorensen web
Karl Sorensen’s 5th visit, Tony Greenslade’s 7th visit – April 2013
*
“Many thanks for two superb days riding and excellent meals. The geriatrics had such a good time they want to come again if you will have us !”
Paul McKinney on behalf of the Sussex & Surrey Gentlemen Riders, April 2013
5 McKinney web
*
“Can I say on behalf of the group what a fantastic weekend we all had. Normandy lanes and your beautiful house with amazing views was the perfect setting for an excellent weekends riding. You & Jen were the perfect hosts and the guides were really helpful & friendly. All in all I don’t think it could have been any better so thank you once again”
Liam McCarter, April 2013
4 McCarter web
*
“Thanks for a cracking weekend – will be highly recommending the trails in Normandy and Bike Normandy”
Ady Govier, EYTRF, April 2013
*
“Just a note of thanks for the fantastic weekend which goes down in my books as the best ever, You really did go the extra mile to make sure we had a good time and nothing was ever too much trouble…”
“Doug – a.k.a. “Rabbit Boy” !
*
“ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT”
East Yorkshire TRF, April 2013
3 Govier web
*
“If you like enduro you will love this place”
Mark Schofield, Somerset TRF, March 2013
2 Keswick web
*
“We had two fantastic days trail riding on some of the best trails ever been on and the hospitality, accommodation & food was 2nd to none. Thank you John & Jen for a great time – we will be back”
James Dennison & Friends, Lancashire, March 2013
Dakar's group web
*
Alain – one of our guides
 
*
Tony Greenslade’s 6th Visit – Karl Sorensen’s 4th Visit
Rod Veck, Stephen Wilson & George Dennison’s 3rd Visit – Nov 2012
*
Paul Stroomer & Mark Cornford’s 6th Visit ! Danny Parker’s 4th Visit – Nov 2012
*
“Brilliant two days laning, great hosts, food to die for, brilliant guide in Alain (how does he remember it all?)
Will be back for sure”
Simon Jones, Somerset, October 2012
*
“Best two days off-roading EVER! Really good hosts, thanks a lot”
Les Foy, Somerset, October 2012
*
“Fantastic food, fantastic accommodation, fantastic hosts! Laning or was it rivering?? Could have done with a jet-ski in places – was bloody brilliant! Definitely coming back again but with a snorkel!”
Andy “Diff” Wakely, Somerset, October 2012
*

*
Paul O’Connell’s Group October 2012
*
“All the guys have been unanimous in saying that last weekend was the best they have had
and that you guys blow away the competition!”
George Dennison, MotoDen, London, April 2011
*
“Some of the best off-roading we have had the pleasure of doing anywhere and added to by your great hospitality throughout the weekend that saw everything run like clockwork and extracted max value out of the time. I have a notion we shall be back!”
Mark, Belfast, April 2011
*
“Fantastic weekend off-roading. Fast and flowing, good food & great hospitality. Will be back for a 3rd time.”
Martin, Somerset, March 2011
*
“On behalf of all of us [5 riders] I would like to thank you both for such a fantastic time. We do know how hard you work to make sure we have everything we need, the riding and your hospitality are second to none, as Arnie puts it “I’ll be back”
Bernie, Surrey, Oct 2010
*
“Great hospitality, wonderful food, excellent accommodation, thanks for showing us the quality trails of Normandy”
Joe, Herts, April 2010
*
“Many thanks for a fantastic holiday…the lads are still talking about it! The food & hospitality were second to none, and it was great to spend so much time on the lanes rather than on the roads”
Steve, Suffolk, Nov 2009
*
“Magic!”
Steve, Essex TRF, Oct 2009
*
“Second time back – already booked third time. Great food, great riding. Excellent!”
Anthony, Devon, Oct 2009
*
“Good riding, great food, great wine, excellent company – what’s not to enjoy! FABULOUS!”
Neil, Hants, April 2009
*
“Had a great weekend. Good food, fab hospitality – oh, and the lanes! Non-stop action – Thanks”
Colin, John, Charlie & Bernie, Surrey, Feb 2009
*
I’ve never laughed so much as I did in Normandy. Had a fantastic time… I’d say the best Trail Riding I’ve ever done.
Excellent accommodation and excellent company and not forgetting the food – Amazing.
Thanks to our Guides for both days and John and Jeanette.
I would go back next weekend if I could.

Lee, Hampshire, October 2008
*

It was definitely one of the best trips ever.
It just wouldn’t be possible to cram any more quality riding, top food, top cider and great laughs into one weekend.

Rich, Hampshire, October 2008

“Wonderful riding. It had something for everyone and the guides are superb. We had rocks, mud, water & lots of nadgery lanes. The wooded sections are challenging but brilliant. The riding is as good as anything you will get in Wales. Wonderful hosts, well organised, excellent food & wine, perfect facilities – we couldn’t ask for more.”
John, Northants, April 2008

“First Rate in every respect. Cheers.”
“Sid”, Bristol, April 2008

“Thanks again for a fantastic weekend, the rides were brilliant, your hospitality was out of this world …and please pass on our thanks to the most helpful guides we have had in about six years of tours”
Mark (uktrailrides), Bucks, October 2007


“We all felt it was the best trip we have ever been on and the trails were equally as good as the Welsh ones – once again many thanks”
Bob, (by e-mail) on behalf of 10 riders from Southern TRF Group, October 2007

“Thank you for a fantastic time, the riding was superb, the accommodation, food and hospitality were just amazing. Be assured we will be back”
Karl, Chris, Mark, Bob, Julian, Lee, Tony, Richard, Colin & Andy (kneeling), Southern TRF, October 2007

“Top Weekend. Best Trails. Great Hospitality!”
Ian, Cambridge, May 2007

“Simply the best off-road trail! Food, hospitality, service…the works!!”
Ian, Bristol, March 2007

“Thanks for a great time…we’ll be back [again!]”
Nick & Roger, Lancs, November 2006

“Two of the best off-road days we have ever had”
Steve, Lancs, May 2006

“Thanks very much for a great weekend, your hospitality was great, the food excellent and the French guides were superb…”
Cliff, Essex, April 2006

“Great hospitality & will recommend this place to everyone”
Bill, Scotland, March 2006

“Better than expected – excellent”
Mark, Darren & the boys, Lancs & beyond, November 2005

“Excellent hosts, fantastic food and second-to-none riding. Highly recommended”
Ian, Derby, October 2005

“Absolutely Superb. Thanks for a great weekend!”
Jeff, Lancashire, April 2005

“Another fine time had by us all. 3rd time here & can’t wait for the 4th. Brilliant everything – thanks again”
Chris, Kent, April 2005

“Thanks a lot for the brilliant weekend…..hope to see you next year”
Lee, Wales, March 2005
Pictures from “La Course Infernale” – 6 British Entrants

“Fantastic food, excellent hosts, great weekend in the snow – ACE !!! “
Sam & the lads, Lancashire, February 2005

“Thanks for the fabulous weekend”
Ian, Lancashire, February 2005

“Couldn’t ask for more! Fantastic food, wonderful hosts & great riding. Can’t wait to return”
Damian, November 2004

“Fantastic hospitality & awesome riding – as good as it gets!”
Ashley, November 2004

“Another wicked weekend, excellent food, drink & of course riding”
Chris, November 2004

“Thank you very much for the 3 days. It was faultless and superb fun. Excellently organised and a repeat performance is definitely on the cards!”
Chris, April 2004 [on behalf of 9 Muddy Boys!]